Crowdfunding

     A Guide to What Works and How

Starting the Process

Leave a comment

I’m exhausted and exhilarated this evening after having launched my Kickstarter project for this book earlier today. I’ve been thinking about writing a book on crowdfunding since last year, and starting putting the pieces together six months ago.

I’m a freelancer, so it took that long to spend the time to write up my proposal, solicit feedback from my friends and colleagues, and craft my text and make the video.

The video in particular was a bugbear. I used to shoot and edit video all the time decades ago, but haven’t done much recently. I had to learn many skills, and get advice from more knowledgeable sorts to put together something decent. I have learned a lot about what I don’t know and what I need to know that will help me as I videotape interviews for the book.

A few hours after launch, I’m approaching 2% of the $35,000 goal. I soft launched, mentioning it on Twitter, and emailing a few friends. My hard launch will come Monday, with an article at a major technology site that has always been very supportive of my work, and emails that I’ll send to dozens of people who have helped or asked to be told about the project when it launches.

Author: glennfleishman

I'm a writer and editor.

Leave a Reply

